Testing out some polaroid cameras

My sister acquired two vintage polaroid cameras. A Polaroid 600 serious land camera and a polaroid sonar one step camera pronto land camera that also had a flash attached to it. Since am the photographer and film person in the family, it was up to me to see if they still work. So from the filmphotographyproject, I order some film, expensive film for only 8 shots, to see if they work. Well today, I did some test shots with each camera and they work, but also learned a lot about polaroid film. For the Polaroid 600 camera I order the impossible polaroid black/white and for the sonar one step camera color film.

What I learned about the few test shots.
With impossible film, the sun is your enemy. I took two shots today this afternoon using the polaroid 600 that didn’t come out. The only reason I can think why they didn’t come out was that as the polaroid was ejected, the sun hit it. Top of the photo that was still inside the film shade area of the camera look okay, but the rest of the photo look over exposed, to light. I guess I wasn’t fast enough to cover up the polaroid from the sun as it ejected.

The photos here I took later in the day around 7pm when the sun was low. They came okay, but with the black and white, probably could use a flash. What do you think? Any advice when it come to using polaroid camera and the impossible project film?

Taken with a polaroid sonar one step pronto camera using color impossible film
Taken with a polaroid sonar one step pronto camera using color impossible film

Taken with a polaroid 600 using black and white impossible film
Taken with a polaroid 600 using black and white impossible film

Leave a Reply

